The Series consists of seven (7) individual time trials on consecutive Wednesday evenings.
Permitted by USA Cycling – Permit: 2023-6885
April 5, 12, 19, 26,
May 3, 10
|Where:||Cherry Creek State Park, 4201 S. Parker Road Aurora, CO 80014|
|Time:||First racer starts at 4:30 PM Final racer at approximately 6:30 PM|
The race series KHMTT is a fundraiser for the Cancer Fitness Institute in memory of Karen Hornbostel and Bicycle Colorado.
Questions: Email: khmt[email protected]rascycling.org
Map, Elevation Profile, GPX file, RideWithGPS
|New Road Surface||Turnaround Aerial View||Turnaround Road View|
You are responsible for your own safety
- You must know the course. Near the end of this page, you will find a map, a download button for a GPS file that you can load on most bicycle computers and a link to RideWithGPS.com that shows the course in detail.
- You must obey all USAC rules and Colorado State Laws. That includes riding to the right of the road and never crossing the center line.
- You are responsible for your own safety. Our marshals and traffic control personnel will do their best to warn you of any vehicle, pedestrian, or bicycle traffic but you are responsible to look both ways when crossing an intersection or coming up to a crosswalk.
- You must read and understand the KHMTT flyer. Our flyer contains all the details you need to know regarding the series. All questions we receive are covered in our flyer, read it and know it before you register.
- You must arrive at the park on time and be at the start line on time. If you arrive at the park late due to circumstances not under your control, see us and we will do our best to reschedule your start time, but there are no guarantees.
- You must pin your bib correctly. Our spotter and timing crew do not have x-ray vision. If they can’t easily see your bib number, they may not be able to give you your time. We have detailed instructions on how and where to pin your bib here.
Cost, Categories and Race Groups
License, Membership, and Equipment Requirements
Series or Multiple Race Purchases:
- You must have a valid annual USAC or UCI license
Single Race Purchases:
- If you have never held a USAC or UCI racing license you may purchase a one-day USAC license when you register
- If you have an expired USAC license you must purchase an experienced one-day USAC license on the USA Cycling website
See www.usacycling.org to purchase a USAC annual license
Categories and series registration fees:
|Junior Men||Junior Women|
|Men 9-10||$60||Women 9-10||$60|
|Men 11-12||$60||Women 11-12||$60|
|Men 13-14||$60||Women 13-14||$60|
|Men 15-16||$60||Women 15-16||$60|
|Men 17-18||$60||Women 17-18||$60|
|Senior/Master Men||Senior/Master Women|
|Men CAT 5||$170||Women CAT 5||$170|
|Men CAT 4||$170||Women CAT 4||$170|
|Men CAT P-1-2-3||$170||Women CAT P-1-2-3||$170|
|Master Men||Master Women|
|Men 40-44||$170||Women 40-44||$170|
|Men 45-49 4-5||$170||Women 45-49||$170|
|Men 45-49 1-2-3||$170||Women 50-54||$170|
|Men 50-54 4-5||$170||Women 55-59||$170|
|Men 50-54 1-2-3||$170||Women 60-64||$170|
|Men 55-59 4-5||$170||Women 65-69||$170|
|Men 55-59 1-2-3||$170||Women 70+||$170|
|Men 60-64 4-5||$170||Other Women|
|Men 60-64 1-2-3||$170||Women Retro||$170|
|Men 65-69 4-5||$170||Women 19-39 e-Bike||$170|
|Men 65-69 1-2-3||$170||Women 40-99 e-Bike||$170|
|Men 70-74||$170||Women Single Speed||$170|
|Men 75-79||$170||Paracycling WC 1-5||$170|
|Men Retro 4-5||$170||Tandem (each racer)||$85|
|Men Retro 1-2-3||$170||Hand Cycles||$170|
|Men 19-39 e-Bike||$170||T 1-2||$170|
|Men 40-99 e-Bike||$170||Recumbent||$170|
|Men Single Speed||$170|
|Paracycling MC 1-5||$170|
By registering for the entire series, you will start at the same time each week and have the same riders in front of you and behind you. This is a terrific way to see how your fitness is progressing.
Race Twice: If you want to ride the course twice (two bibs, two start times, two categories) pay only $40 more ($210).
Purchasing fewer than seven races: Racers will be able to purchase a minimum of four races (or the number of races remaining in the series) starting about a week before the start of the series. Example: after week one when there are six races remaining in the series, you may purchase four, five or six races. After week five when there are only two races left, you may purchase the two remaining races. Purchasing multiple races provides you with a set start time and bib number for all your races.
Individual Races: If you can’t make it for the entire series, individual races may be purchased online via the KHMTT.com web site up until 5:00 on race day. No registrations will be available at the park.
Cost per individual race is $10.00 for the under nineteen age categories and $35.00 for all other categories.
Note that USAC Rule 1H4(c) allows riders to enter one-day time trial events in their category or a higher category at their discretion.
Show and Go: For racers who do not know from week to week if they will be able to race but would like to reserve a start time for the complete series, you may purchase a Show and Go pass. The cost to reserve your start time is $20. Once you pick up your bib at the park you can just show up at the start line any week you choose to race. Your credit card on file will be charged $30 per race, a $5 discount from the walk-up rate. Show and Go passes will be available online starting about a week before the start of the series.
Tandems: Both tandem riders must register separately. Each rider will be charged half ($85) of the total entry fee.
Retro Category: No time trial equipment is allowed.
Time trial equipment includes:
- Aero bars
- Wheel rims deeper than 50mm
- Disk wheels
- Aero helmets
Bicycle: The seat tube and down tube must be straight and the height to width of the tubes may not exceed a ratio of 1 to 2.
Skin suits and shoe covers are permitted.
The Chief Referee will make the final decision on all retro equipment and accessories.
E-bikes may be Class 1 only and must adhere to the following:
- No throttle
- Freely operable pedaling system: rear wheel drive train of pedals, crank, chain, and gear system.
- 750 watt or less motor (manufacturer’s label of compliance is the minimum standard)
- Motor engages only with pedaling
- Motor assistance cut off at 20 mph (32 kmh)
- A single battery
- Limited start assist (no pedaling) up to 4 mph (6 kmh)
The e-bike should have a label on the frame indicating it is a class 1 e-bike showing the max wattage and speed (example: 350w 20 MPH) or the racer must be able to verify to the Chief Referee that the bike does conform to the above requirements. The Chief Referee will make the final decision on e-bike qualifications.
E-bikes must be pre-checked by the KHMTT mechanic next to the COBRAS tent before your first race.
Race Course and Start Information
What to expect
The races are held on completely open roads at Cherry Creek State Park and feature fast turns, rolling terrain, and a long straight uphill near the finish, then a quick downhill to the line.
The start line is near the Pelican Point parking area and restrooms, about .7 miles from the Smoky Hill Picnic Area.
Do not warm-up in the area near the boat ramp as the park does not permit bicycle use of that lot. Please do not warm up or cool down on the course. Violation can result in a DQ.
Start times will be at 30 second intervals – be at the Start Line 3 minutes before you are scheduled to ride!
The “Official” start time is as determined by the Chief Referee. Do not rely on the time shown on your cell phone – it may not be the “official” time. Check the COBRAS clocks when you arrive.
How to register and other important information
The registration process will enable you to select your approximate start time. You will be assigned the next available start time based on the time you selected during registration. Start times will be assigned on a first come, first served basis. Once your registration has been completed you will be notified by email, usually within 24 hours. Start times will also be posted at https://khmtt.com/start-list/
Be sure that your email and mailing addresses are correct on the BikeReg registration form.
If you register before March 18th your bib will be mailed to you if your USAC license and Bicycle Colorado membership are current. If your bib is not mailed to you, your bib may be picked up on race day beginning at 3:00 PM at the Smoky Hill Parking Lot Pavilion.
You will be issued a bib number for the entire series for each category in which you are racing. Do not discard your bib after the first week – you will need it for all the races! Racing bibs are not transferable to another racer. The race bib must be pinned correctly on the left side. If the bib number is obstructed by hair or otherwise hidden from the view of the spotter or timers, then you may not receive a time.
Don't get towed!
Parking is only allowed in the Smoky Hill Parking lot. Volunteers while working at their position may park in any nearby parking area. It is illegal to park on the shoulder or on the grass in the State Park.
Cherry Creek State Park Rules and Entry Fees
New Annual State Park Pass Information
We are guests at CCSP so please act accordingly. You must enter the Park through the East Gate. This entrance is located on Parker Road, 1-mile south of the intersection with I-225. Racers may not drive through any other entrance.
It is illegal to park on the shoulder or on the grass in the State Park. Please only park in the Smoky Hill Parking lot.
All racers and spectators must always obey all state and park laws and rules while in the park. Violations can result in a disqualification.
The daily entry fee for Cheery Creek State Park is $11.00.
Volunteers who are not racing will receive weekly parking placards and do not have to pay to enter the park.
Annual Park Passes:
As approved by the state legislation, a $29 Keep Colorado Wild Pass will be added to vehicle registrations in 2023 unless drivers opt out in the process online or in person. The pass will grant entry to the 42 state parks at a reduced rate of about 60% compared with Colorado Parks and Wildlife’s standard annual pass.
For entrance into parks, the Keep Colorado Wild passes will be printed on the back of registrations. As they’re tied to license plates, the passes will be non-transferable between vehicles.
CPW has approved refund options that will cover the time between when a current Annual Vehicle State Park Pass expires and when a vehicle registration is due. The refund is based on a flat prorated refund structure.
The prorated amount will be based on the price of the original pass divided by 12 months and rounded up to the nearest dollar. A refund will not be granted for passes that were used for nine months or more. Residents will have 60 days after the Keep Colorado Wild Pass purchase date to file for a refund.
Before you can request a refund, your Keep Colorado Wild Pass must be linked to a customer account on CPWshop.com. Follow the instructions outlined in the Keep Colorado Wild Pass – see the CPWshop.com Guide. Please note that to be eligible for a pro-rated refund, the license plate on your motor vehicle registration in which you purchase the Keep Colorado Wild pass, must match the license plate you have on file for your annual state parks pass.
At Cherry Creek State Park you must also pay the Aspen Leaf Basin Water Quality Authority fee, the cost is $3 and is available at the park entry gate or at any CWP office.
Results and Awards
To qualify for a series medal, the racer
- Must have finished in at least three series races
- Racers using a USAC One Day license, the race will not count towards points, even if an annual license is purchased later
The points (see points schedule below) from each rider’s top six results are counted towards an overall title in each category.
In the event of a tie, we will use the placing from the last event in the Series to determine overall results.
In the event of a cancellation, the number of events that count for the overall may change.
If there are ten or more entrants in a category, medals will be awarded to the top three in that category. If less than 10 racers, then only the top finisher will receive a medal. The exception will be all under nineteen age groups, where the top three finishers in each age group will receive a medal.
Medals will be mailed out a few weeks after the completion of the last race of the series.
Unofficial series standing is available on the KHMTT web site at https://khmtt.com/series-ranking/
What to expect
Weather in Colorado can be windy, raining, sleeting, or snowing. Be prepared to ride in all conditions!
If the Chief Referee deems conditions to be unsafe on the day of the race, that day’s racing may be canceled or if conditions become unsafe during the race, the race may be suspended or canceled.
No refunds will be made for canceled races except for racers who purchased a single race.
Race cancellation may not be determined until 3:00 PM or later race day.
The KHMTT will attempt to notify all registered racers via email and text and will be posted on the KHMTT.com website.
Race for Free!
Be a part of the KHMTT and volunteer
Volunteer to be a race marshal.
Your ability to ride safely during the race depends on the many course marshals. Marshals are responsible for watching vehicles on the course, pedestrian control and assisting other park users in reaching their destinations.
Race marshals must be at least 16 years old. Training will be provided by the COBRAS. The COBRAS will supply everything you need, including a race radio and vest.
Race marshals are given either early race start times or late race start times depending on the shift you are assigned to. We do our best to be sure you have plenty of time to marshal, warm up and race.
To receive more information and to sign up, click here.
Never Raced Before?
Here is a low cost opportunity to find out if racing is for you
KHMTT, COBRAS, and Bicycle Colorado offer a very inexpensive way for cyclists who would like to try racing in a time trial but are intimidated or are concerned about the cost of entry.
As we all know, at the KHMTT we see racers with the top-of-the-line bikes and gear racing, right alongside racers with low-cost road bikes and helmets, both having fun and challenging themselves. We also know the cost of your first race can add up, with a one-day USAC license and the race entry fee.
What the KHMTT offers the first-time racer is a low-cost entry fee ($20 covers everything) and we do our best to make the cyclists first race as unintimidating as possible with information on our web site, introductory email that explains all the steps and finally at the park we will take our time to explain everything the cyclists needs to know to successfully run their first race.
And if the cyclist decides they like racing, they can get their USAC license for $65 ($75 less their one-day license fee) and Bicycle Colorado will waive their first year’s Bicycle Colorado membership.
To receive more information and to sign up, click here.
Rules to Follow
Additional tips to stay safe on the course
All USAC rules apply, including strict adherence to the center line rule. All riders must ride to the right unless passing another rider.
In the Tower Loop turn, riders must move left and stay in the lane designed for racers. Failure to do so can result in a violation of the center line rule.
All racers must follow all State and park vehicle laws. Failure to do so can result in a disqualification.
Helmets must always be worn when on a moving bicycle.
USAC Rule 3E5(a): All riders are required to report to the start house 3 minutes prior to their appointed start time.
Junior (Under 19 Categories) racers
USAC Requirements for juniors
USAC RULE 1I5. Young Junior/Youth Bicycles: All riders aged fourteen and under are restricted to massed start bicycles as defined in 1I1(g). These bicycles must also have wheels with at least sixteen spokes and no wheel covers may be used.
The USAC rule regarding gear restriction is no longer in effect.
Restarts and Missed Start Time
Dealing with things not under your control
There are occasions when a rider is unable to start at their assigned time or are unable to complete the course due to circumstances not in their control such as a race suspension, interference by a vehicle, pedestrian, other cyclist, or mechanical issue.
In the case of a race suspension, once the suspension of the race has been lifted, the rider may return to the start area and request a restart from a USAC official and the USAC official will attempt to provide the rider a restart at the earliest possible gap in the start times.
It is the responsibility of the rider to check with a USAC official or race management located at the COBRAS tent to find out if a race suspension has been lifted. Course marshals may not have current information.
In all other cases the rider may return to the start line and explain to the USAC official the reason for the request and a restart may be granted at the discretion of the USAC official.
If a rider has crossed the finish line and their time has been recorded, a restart will not be granted.
Missed Start Time
If a rider is unable to start at their assigned start time due to arriving late at the venue or a mechanical issue, the rider may go to the bib pickup table and request a later start time. At the discretion of race management, a fresh start time will be assigned if there are open start times available and there is ample time to notify the start and finish officials of the start time change.
Help us keep the course safe
Spectators are required to wait at the intersection of Swim Beach Access Road and Tower Loop Road. From the parking lot, turn left and proceed to the intersection.
Special Need or Young Racers (Escorts)
Rules for escorting a rider
If a racer requires an escort on the course during the race, the escort must check in at the COBRAS tent and will be issued an orange vest (if available) that must be worn while on the course. The escort must ride behind the racer and may not ride in front or beside the racer. Violation of this policy will result in the racer being disqualified. Please note that the KHMTT has a limited number of orange vests. It would be advisable that if you have several racers who require an escort that you provide your own vests.
Ride, drive, or take the light rail
Getting to Cherry Creek State Park during the evening rush hour from I-225 can be a challenge.
If you drive to the park, you must enter from the east, using the east gate off Parker Road. If you enter from the west, you will be driving on the course, which presents a hazard to racers currently on the course, so please don’t.
It is illegal to park on the shoulder or on the grass in the State Park. Please only park in the Smoky Hill Parking lot.
There is parking on the west outside of the park at the Village Greens Park off East Union Ave. You can park there and ride your bike into the park. From the Village Green Park please take the Cherry Creek Trail to the Colorado Front Range Trail to enter the park to avoid riding your bike on the course during the race.
Another alternative is to use the RTD light rail. The Nine Mile station on the H line and R lines stops just outside the park and you can ride your bike from the station to the Smoky Hill parking area in under 15 minutes. This option is highly recommended.